CSUN  Wordmark
Page Description

The following page is a three column layout with a header that contains a quicklinks jump menu and the search CSUN function. Page sections are identified with headers. The footer contains update, contact and emergency information.

Wong-Sayaman Equality Award

QS Advisor Info

Advising Hours

Dr. Malhotra serves as the Advisor for the QS Program. Please click here to link to Dr. Malhotra's Advising Hours and Information

Office Location

Jerome Richfield 340




(818) 677-7217

Wong Sayaman Equality Award


The Wong–Sayaman Equality Award  is offered through the Queer Studies Program at California State University, Northridge.

Ronora Sayaman, a CSUN alumnus working in the private sector, began the Wong-Sayaman Equality Award for CSUN students. Her vision is to provide support to students from any academic major who are committed to a leadership role in Queer, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender communities.

Please click this link for an application to the 2012 Wong-Sayaman Equality Award

CSUN student winners of the Wong-Sayaman Award for 2010, standing with Dr. Sheena Malhotra and the Donor of the award.The $1000 award is given out at the Queer Studies Spring Lecture Series which usually occurs in March or April. In the first year, two winners of the Wong-Sayaman Equality Award for 2010 were announced on March 30, 2010. Ms. Sayaman was present to hand the students the award.

Erik Mata (for his work on AIDS Awareness Day and LGBT activism in the Chicano/a community) and Kevin Zemlicka (for his work on the Positive Space - Ally project) received their awards from Ronora Sayaman (the donor of the award). Each award is accompanied by a $1000 scholarship.

(From L to R) QS Coordinator, Dr. Sheena Malhotra, Awardee Kevin Zemlicka, Donor Ronora Sayaman, and Awardee Erik Mata at the 2nd Annual Queer Studies Spring Lecture Series.


In Spring, 2011, the Wong Sayaman Equality Award was given to three student leaders who had been key to LGBT efforts on campus in organizing a candlelight vigil in response to teen suicides, who were campus leaders in advocating for an LGBT Center at CSUN, and whose work displayed the leadership and visionary qualities the award supports. The three award recipients for 2011 were: John Anderson, Missy DomiDean Say and the 3 students getting the awardnguez and Karlee Johnson.


The three students are seen here on April 20th, 2011 on the stage of the USU Grand Salon being honored by Dean Elizabeth Say for their outstanding leadership and work in LGBT communities on campus.


(From L to R). Dean Say is at the podium. The students are Missy Dominguez, Karlee Johnson and John Anderson.


Please watch this space for the announcement and application for the 2012 awards.