Jewish Studies Interdisciplinary Program


Eight $1000 Jewish Studies Scholarships are available for academic year 2017-2018. 

The Jewish Studies Interdisciplinary Program awards eight need-based scholarships of $1000 every academic year. All CSUN students are eligible who have taken or are currently enrolled in a Jewish Studies course (you do not need to be a JS Major or Minor) and who have achieved a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Applicants agree to enroll in an additional Jewish Studies course in the year they receive the scholarship (fall or spring). Deadline to apply is May 5, 2017. 

The application process for the 2017-2018 academic year has already begun.  Click onto AcademicWorks -- login and select the “2017-2018” academic year.   In advance of filling out the application, ask two faculty to write you a short letter of recommendation.  You can upload those letters or request from the AcademicWorks system to contact those faculty on your behalf.   

The application asks you to write about yourself.  Make sure you include why you are interested in enrolling in an additional Jewish Studies course.    


Scholarship for Jewish students from the Jewish Vocational Service

Jewish Studies Achievement Awards

The Jewish Studies Minor Award ($350) and the Modern Jewish Studies Major Award ($500) are given yearly to the senior Jewish Studies Minor/Major with the highest academic achievement overall and in the Program. The winner should either have completed the degree or be making good progress towards completion. An award committee consisting of the JS instructors will be asked to judge between eligible students.

Jewish Studies Scholarship Recipients
Kaitlin LawsonLovia Ofori-AmpofoJessica BandarizadehJessica BandarizadehShiri Feldman
Avital MarzinoLilliana ShvartzmannAvital ElkayamLauren CohenRujjares Hansapiromchok
Carmen CorobianGrigor TorosyanRachel KatzNicholas Di LandoJoseph Seal
 Alexis Jasmin Chacon-RiosLeilani PeltzMiri Gavrieli-HodRodrek Shakoorian
 Davina CohanghadoshEsther NeissanyCarine HavtanJordyn Urman
 Agata KrystMiri Gavrieli-HodOliver Klein 
 Eric FreiwirthCarine HavtanEsther Neissany 
 Aleisha Burton Rodrek Shakoorian 
Jewish Studies Achievement Award Recipients
YearModern Jewish Studies MajorJewish Studies Minor

Miri Gavrieli-Hod

Esther Neissany

2015-2016Avital ElkayamJoshua Stein
2014-2015 Anthony Cardenas
2013-2014 Shoshanna Pro
2012-2013Luis CarrilloBrittney Rodriguez
2011-2012Rachel SilvermanKayla Wizenfeld
2010-2011Shahnee Chen-ZionSarah Fernandez
2009-2010Orly BaradAndrew Belinfante
2008-2009Matthew SternAlexandra Oved
2007-2008Corin BelsherUri-Guy Lande
2006-2007Dov IsaacLaFrance Daniels
2005-2006 Heather McClellen
2004-2005 Heather Warren
2003-2004 Hana Sastiel
2002-2003Naomi Ashley 
2001-2002Cheryl Gillies