Music

  • violinist
  • Production shot from DON GIOVANNI
  • Music banner featuring trombone players
  • university choir
  • Conductor
  • French horn player

Faculty / Full-Time

David Aks | Professor, Musical Theater Conductor

Dr. Ric Alviso | Professor of World Music and General Education

Dr. Ric Alviso


Professor of World Music and General Education
Email: ric.alviso@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-2155
Office location: CY 234

Read Biography

Dr. Katherine Ramos Baker | Professor of Choral Music and Music Education-Choral

Dr. Katherine Ramos Baker


Professor of Choral Music and Music Education, Choral
Email: katherine.r.baker@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-3445
Office location: CY 213

Read Biography

Ronald M. Borczon | Department Chair, Professor of Music Therapy and Classical Guitar

Ronald M. Borczon


Department Chair
Professor of Music Therapy and Classical Guitar
Email: rborczon@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3174
Office location: CY 208

Read Biography

Lorenz Gamma | Assistant Professor of Violin, Head of String Studies

Lorenz Gamma


Assistant Professor of Violin, Head of String Studies
Email: lorenz.gamma@csun.edu 
Phone: (323) 387-9526
Office location: CY 223
 

Glen Garrett | Full-Time Lecturer, Music in General Education

Glen Garrett


Full-Time Lecturer, Music in General Education
Email: glen.r.garrett@csun.edu 
Phone: N/A
Office location: N/A

Read Biography

Matt Harris | Professor of Jazz Performance, Director of Jazz Studies

Matt Harris


Professor of Jazz Performance
Email: matt.harris@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3169
Office location: CY 225

Read Biography

Julia Heinen | Professor of Clarinet

Julia Heinen


Professor of Clarinet
Email: julia.heinen@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3168
Office location: CY 221

Read Biography

Jeffrey Izzo | Assistant Professor and Chair of Music Industry Studies

Jeffrey Izzo


Assistant Professor and Chair of Music Industry Studies
Email: jeffrey.izzo@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3041
Office location: 226

Read Biography

Jerry Luedders | Saxophone

Liviu Marinescu


Coordinator of Composition and Theory
Email: liviu7@csun.edu 
Phone: 818-677-6478
Office location: CY 228

Read Biography

Liviu Marinescu | Chair of Composition and Theory

A.J. McCaffrey


Assistant Professor, Coordinator of Musicianship
Email: arthur.mccaffrey@csun.edu 
Office location: CY 232

Read Biography

A.J. McCaffrey | Assistant Professor, Coordinator of Musicianship

Alexandra Monchick


Associate Professor of Musicology
Email: alexandra.monchick@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3161
Office location: CY 235

Read Biography

Alexandra Monchick | Associate Professor of Musicology

Dr. Deanna Murray | Professor of Voice

Gary Pratt


Professor of Jazz Performance
Email: gary.pratt@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-2743
Office location: CY 222

Read Biography

Gary Pratt | Professor of Jazz Performance

Dmitry Rachmanov


Professor of Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
Email: dmitry.rachmanov@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-2791
Office location: CY 280

Read Biography

Dmitry Rachmanov | Professor of Piano, Head of Keyboard Studies

Diane Roscetti


Professor of Cello, Chamber Music, Music Entrepreneurship, Graduate Coordinator
Email: droscetti@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-6587
Office location: CY 202

Read Biography

Diane Roscetti | Professor of Cello, Chamber Music, Music Entrepreneurship, Graduate Coordinator

John Roscigno


Professor of Instrumental Conducting, Director of the CSUN Symphony Orchestra, Coordinator of Percussion Studies
Email: john.roscigno@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-6834
Office location: CY 212

Read Biography

John Roscigno | Professor of Instrumental Conducting, Director of the CSUN Symphony Orchestra, Head of Percussion Studies

Dr. David Sannerud


Associate Professor of Voice, Head of Vocal Arts
Email: david.sannerud@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3137
Office location: CY 268

Read Biography

Dr. David Sannerud | Associate Professor of Voice, Head of Vocal Arts

Elizabeth Sellers


Professor and Coordinator of Media Composition
Email: elizabeth.a.sellers@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3191
Office location: CY 224

Read Biography

Mary Schliff | Full-Time Lecturer, Music Education-General and Credential

Paul Smith


Associate Professor, Coordinator of Choral Studies
Email: paul.a.smith@csun.edu 
Phone: 818-677-3171
Office location:CY 211

Read Biography

Elizabeth Sellers | Professor and Head of Media Composition

Lawrence Stoffel


Professor of Instrumental Conducting, Director of Bands, Coordinator of Wind Performance Studies, Music Education-Instrumental
Email: stoffel@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3160
Office location:CY 210

Read Biography

Paul Smith | Associate Professor, Director of Choral Studies

Andrew Surmani


Assistant Professor of Music Industry Studies
Email: andrew.surmani@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-3176
Office location: CY 231

Read Biography

Lawrence Stoffel | Professor of Instrumental Conducting, Director of Bands, Head of Wind Performance Studies, Music Education-Instrumental

Steve Thachuk


Professor of Guitar, Coordinator of Guitar Studies
Email: steve.thachuk@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-2846
Office location: CY 207

Read Biography

Andrew Surmani | Assistant Professor of Music Industry Studies

Dr. John L. Whitener


Associate Professor of Music Education
Email: john.whitener@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-5761
Office location: CY 204

Steve Thachuk | Professor of Guitar, Head of Guitar Studies

Steve Thachuk


Professor of Guitar, Coordinator of Guitar Studies
Email: steve.thachuk@csun.edu 
Phone: (818) 677-2846
Office location: CY 207

Read Biography

Dr. John L. Whitener | Associate Professor of Music Education

Dr. John L. Whitener


Associate Professor of Music Education
Email: john.whitener@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-5761
Office location: CY 204