Main menu (IT)

Executive Technology Steering Committee


The Executive Technology Steering Committee (ETSC) is the senior university IT governance group and principal advisor to the President on information technology issues and decisions. The ETSC reports, through the Vice President for Information Technology, to the President’s Cabinet and meets monthly. 


  • Establishes the University’s long-range technology strategy and goals. 
  • Approves and prioritizes all large, university-wide technology projects.
  • Recommends to the President all policies and practices pertaining to technology.
  • Adopts frameworks and guidelines that maintains an effective division of responsibilities for enterprise and local IT services.
  • Approves major changes in the delivery of technology services or service levels.
  • Reviews and adjusts as necessary University-wide technology spending and staffing to optimize the use of CSUN resources.
  • Conducts regular reviews of the University’s IT project portfolio and monitors its alignment with University goals, available resources, and acceptable levels of risk.

Membership (appointed by the President):

ETSC Members: FY 2016-2017

Hilary BakerVice President for Information Technology/CIO (chair)
Yi LiProvost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Colin DonahueVice President for Administration and Finance
William WatkinsVice President for Student Affairs
Robert GunsalusVice President for University Advancement

The Executive Director of the University Corporation will attend the monthly meetings when a topic requires broad consultation but not formal deliberation by the President’s Cabinet.

Meeting Schedule:


Committee Classification:

Advisory to the President.