Main menu (IT)

FMH - My Private Files

Faculty Moodle Help - Where are files stored in Moodle?

In Moodle, files are stored at the resource level. This means when you upload a file to a Moodle course, the file is connected to that resource. If you delete the resource, it will also delete the file from Moodle. For most users this will have the desired behavior and effect.

My Private Files block

 If you have files that you want to share across mutiple courses (e.g. you teach multiple sections of the same course), you can create a repository for your account. It is called My private files. Teachers have a 100 MB quota in the My Private Files block. Students do not have access to the My Private Files block.

To add the My Private Files block

  1. From the course homepage, select the Turn editing on button.
  2. On the right side, locate the Add a block block. In the dropdown menu below it, select My private files.
  3. The page will refresh and the new block will appear in your course.

To add files to My Private Files

  1. From the course homepage, select the Manage my private files button found in the My private files block.
  2. You may create folders to organize your My private files by selecting the Create folder link.
  3. Drag and drop files into the indicated box or select the Add link to add a file.

To add a file from My Private Files to your course

  1. From the course homepage, select the Turn editing on button.
  2. In the desired week/topic, select the Add an activity or resource link.
  3. Under Resources, select File and the Add button.
  4. In the Name field, enter the name you desire to be displayed for the file on the course homepage.
  5. Scroll down to the Content section and select the Add icon.
  6. On the left panel, select Private Files.
  7. Select the file you would like to add.
  8. You will be given the option to Make a copy of the file or Create an alias/shortcut to the file.
    1. Make a copy of file - Makes a new copy of the file within the given course.
    2. Create an alias/shortcut to the file - If you update the file in your My private files at a later time, the file will update to the newest version of the file in your course.
  9. Select Select this file button.
  10. Scroll to the bottom and select the Save and return to course button.

Notes/Best Practices

  • To utilize the My private files block in each of your courses, you must add the block individually to each course.
  • To maintain organization and keep your My private files clean, we recommend only keeping your most frequently used files in the block. You may delete old or unused files by selecting them and then selecting the Delete button.
  • We recommend uploading files of 25 MB or smaller. Large files may require additional bandwidth and make it more difficult for users to download the files.

Return to Faculty Moodle Help