Religious Studies

Lecturers

Richard Asaad

 Richard Asaad

Lecturer

Email:

   

 

Brian Clearwater

Brian Clearwater

Lecturer

Email: brian.clearwater@csun.edu

Randal Cummings

Randal CummingsRandal Cummings

Lecturer

Email: rcummings@csun.edu

Biography

Randal Cummings is a lecturer in the Religious Studies Department at California State University, Northridge.

He received his B.A. in English and Comparative Literatures from CSUN, his Masters in “History of Religions” from UCLA and his C.Phil in 1. History of Religions; 2. Biblical Texts and Theology; 3. Church History; and  4. Modern Intellectual History from UCLA.

Selected Publications

He recently published an article, “Teaching Fundamentalists in the Classroom” for the AAR’s “Spotlight on Teaching” series, and is currently completing a chapter forTeaching Religion and Violence dealing with “Religion and Violence in Popular Culture” to be released by Oxford Press.

Memberships

Prof. Cummings chairs the Arts of Interpretation Group that meets annually at the American Academy of Religions. 

James Findlay

James FindlayJames Findlay

Lecturer

Biography

Dr. Findlay is a lecturer in the Religious Studies Department at California State University, Northridge. James Findlay teaches courses in: Introduction to Religious Studies, The Bible, World Religions, Christianity, Contemporary Ethical Issues, and Religion, Logic, and the Media.

Memberships

Lecturer representative to the University Faculty Senate.

Awards/Honors

College of Humanities Golden Apple Award 2012 (read the full article)

 

Elaine Goodfriend

Elaine GoodfriendElaine Goodfriend

Lecturer

Email: elaine.goodfriend@csun.edu

Biography

Dr. Elaine Goodfriend is a lecturer at California State University, Northridge and teaches courses in History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies. Elaine Adler Goodfriend has a B.A. in Semitic Languages and Literatures from Cornell University, and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Near Eastern Studies from U.C. Berkeley. She has taught at CSUN for the past sixteen years, and has taught at other local universities, including Loyola Marymount, the American Jewish University, and Claremont Graduate School.

Research and Teaching Interests

Her interests are the Hebrew Bible and Jewish History.

Selected Publications

Elaine’s most recent publication is the entry, “Ethical Theories in the Bible,” for The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Ethics and Morality, edited by Elliot Dorff (publication forthcoming). She has published articles in the Anchor Bible Dictionary, The Torah: A Women's Commentary, and The Cambridge Dictionary of Jewish History, Religion, and Culture.

Robert Goss

Robert Goss

Lecturer

Email:

Robert Mason

Robert Mason

Lecturer

Email: robert.mason@csun.edu

Mary Jane O Donnell

Mary Jane O'DonnellMary Jane O Donnell

Lecturer

Email: mjod@csun.edu

Rosamond Rodman

Rosamond RodmanRosamond Rodman

Lecturer

Email: rosamond.rodman@csun.edu

Albert Tevanyan

Albert Tevanyan

Lecturer

Email: albert.tevanyan@csun.edu

Kenneth Todd

Kenneth Todd

Lecturer

Email: kenneth.todd@csun.edu

Ingrid Wilkerson

Ingrid Wilkerson

Lecturer

Email: ingrid.wilkerson@csun.edu