News & Events


Fri., April 17, 2015

Whitsett Room (SH 451), CSUN campus





8:45-9:00   Coffee

9:00-9:05   Conference Opening

                Prof. Adam Swenson, Associate Chair, Philosophy, CSUN

9:05-9:10   Welcome

Josh Dolin, President, CSUN Student Philosophy Society


9:10-10:10   PANEL I [Ethics]:  Norms, Rules and All That: Autonomy and


Chair:  Taylor Hawking (Philosophy, CSUN)


      9:10-9:25           Ryan Cook (Philosophy, CSUN):

    “Autonomy and Normative Authority: An Argument Against    

                                    Relational Autonomy”

      9:25-9:40           Cesar Bernal (Philosophy, CSUN):

    “Ethics of Placebos and Informed Consent with Respect to   


      9:40-9:55           Commentary by Prof. Adam Swenson (Philosophy, CSUN)

      9:55-10:10         General discussion

10:10-10:20   Coffee break

10:20-11:20   PANEL II [Metaphysics]: The Real and the Identical

 Chair:  Thea Manalang (Philosophy, CSUN)


     10:20-10:35        Pedro Melchor (Philosophy, M.A. Program, CSULA): 

“Compositions as Identity: A Defense Via Similarity of Relations”

     10:35-10:50        Cleopatra Doyle (Philosophy, CSUN):

    “A New Way of Approaching Panpsychism”

     10:50-11:05      Commentary by Prof. Julie Yoo (Philosophy, CSUN)

     11:05-11:20      General discussion

11:20-11:30   Coffee break

11:30-12:30   PANEL III [Epistemology/Mind]:  Affective States in Truth

and Art

  Chair:  Cory Benz (Philosophy, CSUN)


     11:30-11:45        Pablo Gómez Forero (Music/Psychology, CSUN):

    “Brain, the Music Machine: Neurocognitive Perspectives of  

     Music and Implications in Attributed Musical Emotions”

     11:45-12:00      Josh Dolin (Philosophy, CSUN ): “The Ergon and Telos of

      Inquiry: A Defense of Affective Epistemology” 

     12:00-12:15        Commentary by Prof. Abel B. Franco (Philosophy, CSUN)

     12:15-12:30        General discussion


12:30-1:00    Lunch

1:00-1:45    Faculty Keynote Speaker:

              Chair:  Clarissa Delgado (Sociology, CSUN)


     1:00-1:30     Prof. Brian Burkhart (American Indian Studies, CSUN):

“Radical Empiricism in Indigenous Philosophy"    

     1:30-1:45    General discussion


1:45-1:50      Break 


1:50-2:30     Letters From Abroad: Philosophy in Otherland

                Chair:  Raul Velez (Philosophy, CSUN)


     1:52-2:00            Prof. Nicholas W. Dungey (Political Science, CSUN)

     2:00-2:07            Prof. Douglas W. McLaughlin (Kinesiology, CSUN)

     2:07-2:15            Prof. Ranita Chatterjee (English/Liberal Studies, CSUN)

     2:15-2:30            General discussion


2:30-2:35      Break 


2:35-2:45    Luckenbach Award Presentation

                                Prof. Tim Black (Chair, Philosophy, CSUN)s


2:45-3:15    Alumnus Keynote Speaker

                Chair:  Prof. Tim Black (Chair, Philosophy, CSUN)


     2:45-3:05    Nima Rajamand (B.A. Philosophy; B.A. Linguistics, CSUN, 2012):

“The Devil's Advocate or Modern Cleric? My Perspective As Dante in the World of Law”

     3:05-3:15    General discussion       


3:15-3:20   Break


3:20-3:25   Final Remarks

Anjinette Barker (B.A. Philosophy, CSUN, 2014)


3:20-3:30   Thank-Yous and Good-Byes

                                Prof. Abel B. Franco (Philosophy, CSUN)            


3:30-5:00   Barbecue (Northridge Park and Recreation Center)

10058 Reseda Boulevard; Northridge, CA 91325

 [See map on the back]



For more information: Prof. Abel B. Franco (CSUN, Philosophy)