Linguistics

  • Department of Linguistics / TESL

Faculty & Staff

The Linguistics/TESL department is an interdisciplinary department. The department is headed by a full-time member of the CSUN faculty who serves as Department Chair. There is an advisory committee of faculty appointed by the Provost and drawn from a number of schools and programs on campus. Their role is to make department policies, review curriculum, mentor students, and teach courses in the department. These faculty are shown below along with a listing of their areas of academic expertise.

 

NameEmailAreas of Specialization
Shartriya Collier
Dept. of Elementary Education
TESOL pedagogy, gender and second language acquisition, immigrant family literacy, English language learners in elementary contexts, content-based instruction, bilingual and transcultural education
Fred Field
Dept. of Linguistics/TESL
fredric.field@csun.edu bilingualism, language contact, grammar of English for teachers
Joseph Galasso
Lecturer in Linguistics
first and second language acquisition, syntax, morphological processing
Shadi Ganjavi
Lecturer in Linguistics
shadi.ganjavi@csun.edu syntax, syntax/semantics interface, language development, Persian linguistics
Gayaneh Hagopian
Lecturer in Linguistics
sociolinguistics and anthropological linguistics, language acquisition, semantics, metaphor theory, heritage language studies, Armenian studies
Cynthia Hagstrom
Lecturer in Linguistics
sociolinguistics, discourse and conversational analysis, speech technology, language acquisition
Catherine Jackson
Dept. of Communication Disorders and Sciences
neurolinguistics, language and cognition in aging, speech and language disorders
Anna Dina L. Joaquin
Dept. of Linguistics/TESL
anna.joaquin@csun.edu first and second language acquisition, neurobiology of language, TESL pedagogy, language socialization, discourse analysis
Bessie Karras-Lazaris
Intensive English Program
Intensive English Program administration, ESL teacher training
Sharon Klein
Dept. of English & Dept of Linguistics/TESL
sharon.klein@csun.edu linguistic theory, syntax, educational linguistics, child language development
Rebecca Litke
Dept. of Communication Studies
rebecca.litke@csun.edu ethnography and communication, qualitative methods, intercultural communication
Kenneth V. Luna
Dept. of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
kenneth.luna@csun.edu phonetics, acoustics, laboratory phonology, intonation, prosodic typology, Sp_ToBI, Caribbean linguistics, Romance linguistics
Terrie Mathis
Lecturer in Linguistics
terrie.mathis@csun.edu discourse analysis, pedagogical grammar
Evelyn McClave
Dept. of Linguistics/TESL
gesture in the context of speech, cognitive linguistics, American Sign Language, discourse analysis
Ana Sánchez Muñoz
Dept. of Chicana/o Studies
language variation and change, sociolinguistics, language contact, bilingualism, Spanish in the U.S.
Sabrina Peck
Dept. of Linguistics/TESL
sabrina.peck@csun.edu second language acquisition, TESL/TEFL pedagogy for children and adults, elementary education
Tineke Scholten
Lecturer in Linguistics
phonology, language disorders, linguistics and education
Enchao Shi
Dept. of English
enchao.shi@csun.edu syntax, morphology, language development
Wendy Snyder
Dept. of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
wendy.snyder@csun.edu Japanese linguistics, Japanese pedagogy, first language acquisition