FINANCIAL AID

  • Rolls of stickers with the California State University, Northridge seal on them.

About Us

The Financial Aid & Scholarship Department provides financial assistance and guidance in a caring and compassionate manner through appropriate communication and learning activities that will empower our students to fulfill their academic aspirations. As members of the university community, we collaborate with other campus departments and the community to provide outreach and access services, scholarship resources and educational work experiences to our student population. We will strive to teach responsibility through loan counseling and financial management workshops, while requiring satisfactory academic progress to promote responsible citizenship.

Lili Vidal

Lili Vidal, Director
lili.vidal@csun.edu

Lili Vidal provides vision and direction to a large department that serves more than 27,000 students by providing and coordinating more than $300 million in financial funding to support student enrollment and graduation. She advocates for students’ needs on a local, state and national level and is responsible for compliance with numerous federal, state and institutional regulations, directives and policies. She values collaborative relationships with colleagues and promoting student success and ongoing funding.

Ms. Vidal began her career at UCLA where she received her bachelor’s degree in English and developed a literacy program that involved fellow students, alumni and older LAUSD volunteers. She began her CSUN career in 1986 as a scholarship coordinator and went on to hold various positions in the Financial Aid & Scholarship Department, leading to her position as Director in 2006. She received her master’s from the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling at CSUN.

Linda Brignoni

Linda Brignoni, Senior Associate Director
linda.brignoni@csun.edu

Linda Brignoni’s primary responsibilities include serving as the second in command to the director of the Financial Aid & Scholarship Department and overseeing the day-to-day office operations. She works closely with the director in developing, interpreting and implementing policies to provide efficient and effective delivery of financial aid. In addition, Ms. Brignoni provides leadership and guidance to the Scholarship, Technical, Work-Study and Systems units. Brignoni has more than 25 years of experience in the financial aid field as well as education-related experience in the nonprofit and private sector. She earned her bachelor's degree in sociology: counseling and interviewing and master's degree in foundations of education from CSUN.

Armenka Khashmanyan

Armenka Khashmanyan, Associate Director
Student Relations and Financial Literacy
armenka.khashmanyan@csun.edu

Armenka Khashmanyan provides leadership and guidance to the counseling and customer service units in all aspects of determining financial aid eligibility and communicating complex financial aid information to students and the CSUN community. She has 20 years of experience in the financial aid field both in the private sector and public postsecondary education. She earned her bachelor’s degree in French from CSUN and has served as assistant director of the Financial Aid & Scholarship Department since 2009.

Staff Directory

Sonya L. Adlersberg, Financial Aid Counselor
sonya.adlersberg@csun.edu

Gregorio Alcantar, Financial Aid Counselor
gregorio.alcantar@csun.edu

Jesus R. Alvarez, Financial Aid Representative
jesus.alvarez@csun.edu

Elizabeth Arias, Athletic Financial Aid Coordinator
elizabeth.arias@csun.edu

Charnae V. Bailey, Financial Aid Counselor
charnae.bailey@csun.edu

Jayne Ponce Calucag, File Center Assistant
jayne.p.calucag@csun.edu

Josefina Carbajal, Work-Study Manager
josefina.carbajal@csun.edu

Veronica Corona-Popovic, Scholarship Coordinator
Veronica.corona@csun.edu

Yvonne L. David, Assistant to the Director
yvonne.l.david@csun.edu

Emily C. Fitch, Specialized Operations Coordinator
emily.fitch@csun.edu

Krista L. Groce, Senior Financial Aid Functional Analyst
krista.groce@csun.edu

Denise L. Hansford, Compliance Officer
denise.hansford@csun.edu

Mitchell V. Lieu, Information Technology Consultant
mitchell.lieu@csun.edu

Kathi Maki, Scholarship Assistant
Kathi.I.maki@csun.edu

Domenica Majalca, Financial Aid Counselor
domenica.garcia@csun.edu

Thomas E. Maki, Information Technology Consultant
tom.maki@csun.edu

Esteffi Marquez, Scholarship Program Assistant
Esteffi.marquez@csun.edu

Surinder K. Matharu, Financial Aid Representative
surinder.matharu@csun.edu

Diana Medina, Financial Aid Counselor
diana.medina@csun.edu

Ashley M. Mejia, Financial Aid Representative
ashley.mejia@csun.edu

Beatriz Mendoza, Customer Service Supervisor and Counselor
beatriz.mendoza@csun.edu

Marian Nobleza, Accounting Specialist
Marian.nobleza@csun.edu

Alain B. Resurreccion, LAN Administrator
alain.resurreccion@csun.edu

Mae A. Rhoades, Financial Aid Representative
mae.rhoades@csun.edu

Guadalupe S. Roth, Loan Technician
lupe.roth@csun.edu

Mariana T. Saavedra, Grant Technician
mariana.saavedra@csun.edu

Laura A. Santa Cruz, Financial Aid Representative
laura.santacruz@csun.edu

Tsubura Caroline Talactac, Financial Aid Functional Analyst
tsubura.talactac@csun.edu

Tricia L. Troutt, Loan Technician
patricia.troutt@csun.edu

Contact Information

Financial Aid & Scholarship Department
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8307

1-818-677-4085 Financial Aid
(818) 677-4907 Scholarships
(818) 677-2373 Work-Study
(818) 677-4958 TDD

Location and Hours

The Financial Aid & Scholarship Department is located on the first floor of Bayramian Hall, west of the Oviatt Library.

Hours

Monday and Thursday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday and Wednesday, 10 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Counseling hours

Monday: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday and Wednesday: 10:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

Visits with a financial aid counselor are limited to 15 minutes and require a referral slip from the first-floor financial aid window. Please have your questions ready.

Please be in line at least 30 minutes before closing; hours are subject to change.

Holiday Closures

Veterans' Day: 11/11/14
Thanksgiving Day: 11/27/14 - 11/28/2014
Winter Break – 12/25/14 - 12/31/2014
New Year’s Day – 01/01/15
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – 01/19/15
Cesar Chavez Day – 03/31/15
Memorial Day – 05/25/15