Skip navigation


California State University, Northridge wordmark
Michael D. Eisner College of Education wordmark
Joan Becker and 6 of her students.

Vol. 3, No. 1

Fall 2013

Your Source of Information for Staying Connected, the e-magazine of the Michael D. Eisner College of Education

Faculty Achievements - Awards and Achievements

Education Professor and Director of Research Enhancement Adele Eskeles Gottfried (Educational Psychology and Counseling) was appointed co-chair, Fellows Selection Committee by Division 15—Education Psychology, of the American Psychological Association on August 1, 2013.

Education Assistant Professor Dimpal Jain (Educational Leadership and Policy Studies) was awarded the Debbie Leidner Teaching Award by the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies on May 5, 2013.

Education Associate Professor Robert E. Kladifko (Educational Leadership and Policy Studies) was the recipient of the 2013 Marcus Foster Memorial Award by the Association of California School Administrators on May 23, 2013. This award recognizes outstanding leadership and significant contributions to education by a school administrator. The award was established in honor of the memory of Marcus Foster, former superintendent of the Oakland Unified School District.

Education Professor Al Nava (Secondary Education) was presented an award by the Los Angeles County History Day Los Angeles for over 30 years of serving the students of Los Angeles County by providing volunteer judges for History Day Los Angeles. These judges are assigned to judge the history/social science projects (grades 5-12th) each spring. The most outstanding projects move on to the state semi-finals, and those winning projects go to the national competition in Washington D.C. Over 1,500 students from Los Angeles County Schools compete. History Day Los Angeles originated at CSUN approximately 40 years ago under the direction of Dr. David Bidna and Dr. Ray McHugh, former Eisner College faculty. In addition, Dr. Nava was appointed to the editorial board of the National Social Science Journal.

Return to previous page.
Proceed to next page.

Content Contact

Dr. Cynthia Desrochers, Editor
Professor, Eisner College of Education

Technical Contact

Ian Carroll
Web Developer, Eisner College of Education