California State University, Northridge

Council of Chairs Meeting of December 15, 2003 Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 10:07 a.m.

Members Present: Janet Adams (HHD), Julio R. Blanco (SC&M), Doris Helfer (LIB), Rie Rogers Mitchell (EDU), Sid Schwartz (CECS), Gregory Velazco y Trianosky (HUM), and Nathan Weinberg (S&BS).

Members Absent: William P. Jennings Jr. (B&E) (excused), and David Moon (AMC) (excused.)

Substitutes for Members: none

Guests: Nagi El Naga (Electrical & Computer Engineering)

Presenters/discussants: Margaret Fieweger (Assoc. V.P. Undergraduate Studies), Fran Horvath (Dir. Institutional Research & Planning), Penelope Jennings (Interim Assoc. V.P. Faculty Affairs), Roberta Madison (Health Sciences), and Lorrain Newlon (Dir. Admission & Records).

  1. The minutes of the November 17, 2003 meeting were approved with no corrections.
  2. Lorrain Newlon discussed issues related to SOLAR. We touched upon the following: (a) reported problems if using modem, (b) use of the long form for students not on the roster, (c) grade reports will be available to chairs, (d) grades are expected to be posted five days after the final exam, (e) permission numbers should not be given if requisites are not met, and others. It was suggested that a return receipt be automatically sent to the instructor and the department once the grades have been received in SOLAR. It is not clear after entering the grades (and saving) if indeed the grades were properly accepted by SOLAR.
  3. Margaret, Fran, Penny and Bobby lead a discussion about Learning-Centered University. An exchange of ideas took place about the concept. It was felt that broad consultation was necessary. The plan activities for the Spring semester were considered appropriate.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:51 a.m. The next Council of Chairs meeting will be held on Monday, February 9, 2004 at 10:00 a.m. in the Oviatt Library Room 102C.

Respectfully submitted: Julio R. Blanco, Chair Council of Chairs


Original design by Pralaya Software Solutions. Recoded in accordance with W3C/WAI guidelines by Elizabeth Altman

Please direct questions or comments regarding site content to the chair of the committee.

Last updated: January 17, 2007