California State University, Northridge

Council of Chairs Meeting of March 17, 2003 Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 9:35 a.m.

Members Present: Michael Barrett (LIB), Julio Blanco (SC&M), Bonnie Ericson (EDUC), Adam Gifford (B&E), Sid Schwartz (CECS), Tom Spencer-Walters (S&BS), Gregory Velazco y Trianosky (HUM) and Janet Adams (HHD).

Members Absent: David Moon (AMC) (excused).

Guests: Michael Reagan (Ref. & Instr., Library & CFA) and Nathan Weinberg (Sociology, S&BS).

Presenters/discussants: None

  1. The minutes of the February 17, 2003 meeting were approved without corrections.
  2. The committee discussed a variety of topics.
    • Meeting with the Provost. Provost will meet with all chairs. Four separate meetings will be arranged to allow all chairs to attend. Invitation letters will be prepared by the Provost's office and mailed to each chair. The committee discussed (1) the lack of training for new chairs, (2) the lack of an annual calendar for chairs, (3) the increased workload for chairs, (4) the length of chair appointments, should it be 3 or 5 years? Each chair should complete one five-year review? (5) The evaluation of chairs, does it make sense at the end of the appointment?
    • Responsibilities of the Council of Chairs. (1) It was felt that all chairs should be informed that any difficulties that they encounter should be brought up to the Council of Chairs. (2) The Council should help chairs resolve any issues, particularly relations with Deans and upper Administration, but also inter-Departmental concerns. (3) The Executive Committee should review the constitution of the Council of Chairs.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m. The next Council of Chairs meeting will be held on Monday, April 21, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Oviatt Library Room 314.

Respectfully submitted: Julio R. Blanco, Chair
Council of Chairs


Original design by Pralaya Software Solutions. Recoded in accordance with W3C/WAI guidelines by Elizabeth Altman

Please direct questions or comments regarding site content to the chair of the committee.

Last updated: December 10, 2006