Approved Minutes

CSUN ARF EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING

WEDNESDAY, MAY 11, 2022

11:00 AM -12:30 PM via ZOOM

Board members present: Daniel Blake, John Clendenning, Cynthia Desrochers, Timothy Fox, Catherine Jeppson, Robert Kiddoo, Sharon Klein, Virginia Lussier, Ron McIntyre, Phyllis Russell, Cheryl Spector, Joel Zeitlin.

Board members excused: Pamela Bourgeois, Pat Nichelson, Ann Perkins, Eugene Turner.

Monthly Business

- 1. Call to Order: Board President John Clendenning called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.
- 2. Formal Adoption of the Agenda: **MSP** (Moved, Seconded, Passed) to adopt the agenda.
- 3. Approval of the Minutes, March 9, 2022, and April 13, 2022: Cheryl Spector: **MSP** to adopt the minutes.
- 4. President's Announcement: John Clendenning and Ron McIntyre attended President Erika D. Beck's Investiture at the Soraya in March. Details are available in the current issue of (May 2022) *ARF Notes*. Although the participation of these two ARF representatives was to have been listed in the program notes for the Investiture, neither they nor ARF was listed.
- 5. Vice President's Announcement: Ron summarized his previously distributed written report from the ad hoc committee—chaired by Ginny Lussier and Tim Fox—that was charged with determining the official name of the Hansen/ARF scholarship. The committee has affirmed the formal name to be "The Phil and Shirley Hansen / Association of Retired Faculty Scholarship in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education". This decision was reached after extensive research by Ginny and Tim and with

concurrence from Beverly Cabello on behalf of the MDECOE. The ARF website will be updated to reflect this resolution. Additional updates and revisions to the website will be made later.

Reports

- 1. Treasurer: Daniel Blake reviewed his previously distributed written report of ARF's income and expenses April 8-May 9. The largest expenditure was \$10,000 to support this year's ARF Memorial Awards. In addition, ARF donated \$1,000 to The Soraya. Our total account balances now stand at \$158,451.48.
- 2. Program Chair: Sharon Klein.
 - a. Sharon reported that the annual ARF members' picnic will take place as planned on Saturday, June 4, beginning at 11 a.m. in the Arbor Grill Courtyard at CSUN. The buffet will open at 11:30 a.m., with ARF as the host for all food and beverages. The menu is still under discussion, including whether beer and wine will be available.
 - b. Planning next year's ARF programs and field trip continues. The subject of genealogy is one new program possibility.
- 3. Membership Chair: Phyllis Russell and Timothy Fox: Tim noted that the recent passings of many ARF members underscores the continuing importance of recruiting new members. In discussion, Ron suggested that invitations to join ARF or renew membership go out earlier next year, no later than mid-summer. John reminded the Board of the need to add members to the Membership Committee, whether other Board members or other ARF members, to help with the demands of its tasks. Ron added that in the past, several people have volunteered to help mail out the letters of invitation. Tim explained that it would certainly be possible to reach out to returning and new members in phases, with renewals being invited earlier while new member names might not be available until September. Cynthia added that personal outreach to recent retirees is also important. Cathy reminded us that ARF used to send a representative to the Honored Faculty

Reception to invite new retirees to join ARF. John will contact the Faculty Senate Office to see if that will be possible in this year's reception which is set for May 24. Sharon recalled that ARF also used to send a representative to a Faculty Senate meeting each year to talk about ARF. In short: there is plenty we can do to recruit new members.

- 4. Representative to ERFSA: Timothy Fox was not able to attend the recent ERFSA meeting, but he has heard there was some concern about the possibility of emeritus faculty losing some of their privileges.
- 5. Representative to Faculty Senate: Diane Schwartz sent a written report. John called our attention to the Senate's discussion of AB 928 (the "Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act of 2021"), which aims to streamline transfer student entry into the CSU and UC by establishing one lower division general education pathway, of no more than 34 semester units, that meets admission requirements for both. He encouraged the Board to send any concerns to Diane.

Note: There were no reports from the Editor of *ARF Notes*, our Historian, and our Webmaster.

New Business

Acting Secretary, ARF Annual Business Meeting, June 4, 2022: Cynthia Desrochers agreed to serve as Acting Secretary at the ARF Annual Business Meeting, as Cheryl Spector will not be able to attend the meeting.

Old Business

1. Memorial Awards Committee: Timothy Fox. Tim summarized his previously distributed written report, in which he noted that despite the small number of applicants, the committee felt that the four projects chosen for this year's awards all deserved recognition. Tim speculated that COVID had reduced contact between graduate students and their advisors, and he looks forward to next year when ARF will have direct email access to the graduate advisors and coordinators, which should improve the number of applications. John

- added that the dip in projects from Biology was particularly noticeable. Tim also noted that except for himself, there was an all-new committee membership this year Patrick Nichelson, Alyce Akers, Sandra Jewett, Justine Su, and Timothy Fox (chair). He thanked the committee for their work, and John thanked Tim for once again chairing the committee.
- 2. Nominating Committee: John Clendenning summarized the previously distributed Slate of Officers for 2022-2023, noting that although the position of Historian will be vacant, the ARF By-Laws allow for a way to fill the vacancy. Tim added that Ginny's work as Historian has been outstanding.

Adjournment

There being no further items on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 12:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Cheryl Spector, Board Secretary