# **ARF Executive Board Meeting**

(Approved, May 13, 2020)

April 8, 2020

Board Members Present: Daniel Blake, Pamela Bourgeois, John Clendenning, Timothy Fox, Doris Helfer, Catherine Jeppson, Robert Kiddoo, Sharon Klein, Virginia Lussier, Ann Perkins, Phyllis Russell, Diane Schwartz, Eugene Turner.

Board Members Excused: Carolyn Arthur, Shan Barkataki, Patrick Nichelson.

## **Monthly Business**

- 1. Call to Order: President Bourgeois called the meeting to order (via Zoom) at 11:05 a.m.
- 2. Formal adoption of agenda: **MSP** to adopt the agenda as distributed.
- 3. Approval of Minutes, March 11, 2020. **MSP** to approve the Minutes as amended.
- 4. President's Announcements
  - a. The next meeting of the Executive Board (via Zoom) will be convened on May 13. At that time, the Board will determine the method for voting on the slate of officers for 2020/2021 as proposed by the Nominating Committee (see **Old Business**, item 1 below).
  - b. Because of COVID-19 the Memorial Awards Brunch and the Annual Membership Meeting and Picnic have been cancelled.
  - c. In lieu of the Awards Brunch, *ARF Notes* will publish a report of the recipients of the 2020 Memorial Awards (see **Old Business**, item 2 below).

### Reports

- 1. Treasurer: Daniel Blake presented the ARF Treasurer's Report for April 2020. The total Account Balances as of April 8: \$150,345.16. This is an increase of \$214.54, nearly all of which was generated by interest income of \$252.89. Total Expenses: \$38.35. Overall Net Income: \$214.54.
- 2. Program Chair: Sharon Klein:
  - a. Planning for 2020/2021 includes:
    - i. September: Commemoration of the Centennial of Women's Suffrage.
    - ii. October: D. Hillary Kaplowitz (Technology and Educatio).
    - iii. For November, February, and March, the committee is considering Dr. Harold Goldwhite, Dr. Jerry Rishe, and a speaker from JPL.
  - b. Planning is, of course, tentative, subject to the COVID-19 conditions that may continue to disrupt such programs.
  - c. Sharon sent an email to the membership about the program in general and the Silent Auction in particular.

- 3. Membership Chair: Diane Schwartz. Currently there are 221 ARF members—an increase of 1 from the previous report and 20 fewer members than at this time last year.
- 4. Webmaster: Eugene Turner. With the help of Virginia Lussier, Gene posted an account of the ARF Field Trip to the Autry Museum.
- 5. Faculty Senate Representative: Dianne Schwartz. The Senate met (via Zoom) on March 12 and approved two items from PP&R and one from EPC. Provost Mary Beth Walker reported that CSUN has moved to virtual and online instruction in Spring 2020. Jerry Schutte reported that AB 1460 would require all CSU students to take a 3-unit ethics studies course to graduate. As of March 12, the state legislature has not brought this measure to a vote.

#### **Old Business**

1. Nominating Committee (Pamela Bourgeois (Chair), Timothy Fox, and Catherine Jeppson) presented the following slate for ARF officers to serve on the ARF Executive Board in 2020/2021:

President Timothy Fox (elected) John Clendenning (nominate) Vice President-President-Elect Immediate Past-President Pamela Bourgeois (elected) Cheryl Spector (nominate) Secretary Treasurer Daniel Blake (nominate) **Program Chair** Sharon Klein (nominate) ARF Notes Editor Ann Perkins (nominate) Membership Chair Phyllis Russell (nominate) Historian Virginia Lussier (nominate) Eugene Turner (nominate) Webmaster Member-at-Large Shan Barkataki (elected) 1 year Member-at-Large Leland Gassert (nominate) 1 year Patrick Nichelson (elected) 1 year Member-at-Large Member-at-Large Catherine Jeppson (nominate) 2 year Member-at-Large Joel Zeitlin (nominate) 2 year Member-at-Large Robert Kiddoo (nominate) 2 year

2. Memorial Awards Committee Report: Timothy Fox (Chair), John Clendenning, Jim Dole, Gary Lobb, and Virginia Lussier. On behalf of the committee, Tim submitted the report:

There were 21 applicants from 11 departments. The following is an

There were 21 applicants from 11 departments. The following is an alphabetical list of the recommended 2020 Awardees:

- Jennifer Fields (Biology)
- Kelly Geiger (English)
- Erin Schmitt (Geology)
- Crystal Venegas (Psychology)

Tim asked for the Board's approval. Accordingly it was **MSP** to approve the committee's recommended recipients of the ARF Graduate Project/Thesis Memorial Awards 2020.

Because of COVID-19 the Awards Brunch has been cancelled and the awardees are excused from making an oral presentation. They will, however be highlighted in *ARF Notes*, and each will receive a certificate. *ARF Notes* will also briefly acknowledge the donors.

**MSP** to commend the Memorial Awards Committee and the Hansen Scholarship Committee for excellent service.

#### **New Business**

*ARF Notes* inclusions/changes: Ann Perkins. In response to COVID-19 and the resulting limitations on group activities, the Board suggested that members might submit reviews of books and films, recipes for "sheltered" days. Members are also encouraged to submit brief accounts of how they are spending their time.

## Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 12:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

John Clendenning, Secretary