CSUN  Wordmark
Page Description

The following page is a three column layout with a header that contains a quicklinks jump menu and the search CSUN function. Page sections are identified with headers. The footer contains update, contact and emergency information.

Asian American Studies banner

Asian American Studies Timeline

Contact Information

AAS Department

Office Location

JR 340




Helpful Links

Helpful Links

Picture of 1999 AAS graduates

Richard Yi, Prof. Sobredo, Swani Vo,
Prof. Uba (Chair), Kiet Ton, Arnil Brown.

Arnil Brown, Kiet Ton, Richard Yi, and Swani Vo were the first students to earn degrees from the newly approved Asian American Studies major in 1999.

AAS Selected Timeline

1981 - First proposals for AAS courses. Beginning in 1986, the first available AAS course, Introduction to Asian Americans, was taught in the Anthropology Department by Dr. Laura Uba.

1988 - CSUN professors approach student groups about the concept of AAS and invite them to a meeting to talk about it in a group. Concept of having an organized student network to support the department was born. The Asian Pacific Students Alliance was founded (APSA) with about 12 APA student groups as members and Gary Mayeda elected as it's first president.

1989 - First Asian Pacific American Cultural Awareness Week was sponsored by APSA to promote culture, diversity, Asian American Cuisine, and fun.

1990 - Former Academic Affairs Vice President, Bob Suzuki, creates the Asian American Studies Department at CSUN.

Student leaders such as Gary Mayeda and faculty members such as Laura Uba, George Uba, Tim Dagodag, Warren Furumoto, Michael Ego, and Dr. Gordon Nakagawa push to expand the department's curriculum and become the first faculty in the Department.

Dr. Kenyon Chan becomes the first Chair of the Department.

1992 - AAS minor is established.

1994 - First tenure-track faculty is hired, Professor Timothy Fong.

1996 - Dr. Teresa Williams-León joins the faculty

1997 - Dr. James Sobredo joins the faculty

1997 - B.A. Major/Double Major curriculum is offered. One of the first AAS departments/programs to offer courses on biracial-multiracial studies and Asian American sexuality.

1998 - Dr. George Uba serves as interim Chair

1999 - First graduates from CSUN with a major in Asian American Studies.

2000 - Dr. Enrique de la Cruz joins the department as Chair; Professor Allan Aquino and Professor Maria Turnmeyer join the department; APSA is reborn as the Asian American Studies Student Association (AASSA).

2001 - Dr. Gina Masequesmay, Dr. Steven Ropp and Dr. Edith Chen join the department

2002 - Dr. Eunai Shrake, Professor Dennis Lee, and Dr. Ayanna Yonemura (with a joint position in Urban Studies) join the department.

2003 - Dr. Vivian Tseng join the department; Dr. Gordon Nakagawa serves as interim Chair

2004 - Dr. Teresa Williams-Leon becomes Chair

2006 - 23 majors graduate with a BA degree in Asian American Studies

2007 - Dr. Tracy Buenavista joins the department, and Dr. Gina Masequesmay becomes interim Chair.

2008- Dr. Sandra Stanley becomes interim Chair.